GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1995 SESSION

CHAPTER 196 HOUSE BILL 507

AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT THE LAWS RELATING TO MOTOR VEHICLES APPLY ON STREETS OWNED BY THE COLINGTON HARBOUR ASSOCIATION, INC., IN DARE COUNTY, AND TO PROVIDE THAT THE TOWN OF MANTEO MAY REGULATE NOISE IN THE ATLANTIC OCEAN AND OTHER WATERWAYS ADJACENT TO THAT PORTION OF THE TOWN WITHIN ITS BOUNDARIES OR WITHIN ITS EXTRATERRITORIAL JURISDICTION.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. The provisions of Chapter 20 of the General Statutes relating to the use of the highways of the State and the operation of motor vehicles are applicable to the drives, driveways, roads, roadways, streets, courts, extensions, alleys, and parking lots, by whatever name known, on the properties owned by or under the control of The Colington Harbour Association, Inc., and shown on the several plats recorded in the office of the Register of Deeds of Dare County. For purposes of this act, drives, driveways, roads, roadways, streets, courts, extensions, alleys, and parking lots, by whatever name known shall have the same meaning as highways and public vehicular areas pursuant to G.S. 20-4.01. A violation of any of those laws is punishable as prescribed by those laws.

- Sec. 2. This act shall not be construed as in any way interfering with the ownership and control of the drives, driveways, roads, roadways, streets, courts, extensions, alleys, and parking lots, by whatever name known, of The Colington Harbour Association, Inc., nor does this require the removal of the private guard gate belonging to the Association.
- Sec. 3. The speed limits shall be the same as those in effect at the time of ratification of this act and contained on a list in the office of the Dare County Board of Commissioners. Any proposed change in the speed limits shall be submitted to and approved by the Dare County Board of Commissioners pursuant to G.S. 20-141.
 - Sec. 4. Section 2 of Chapter 84 of the 1995 Session Laws reads as rewritten:
- "Sec. 2. This act applies to the Towns of Kill Devil Hills, Kitty Hawk, <u>Manteo</u>, Nags Head, and Southern Shores only."
 - Sec. 5. This act applies only to Dare County.
 - Sec. 6. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 7th day of June, 1995.

Dennis A. Wicker
President of the Senate

Harold J. Brubaker Speaker of the House of Representatives